A Butterfly Lover’s Heaven

Yesterday I took my annual trip to Brookside Garden’s Wings of Fancy butterfly exhibit in Wheaton, MD.  I started going here after my son’s preschool took a field trip there about six years ago, and every year when I go I promise myself that I am going to come back more often!  This year I almost missed the butterfly exhibit Wings of Fancy – it closes this Sunday, September 19th.

The butterflies are housed in a greenhouse type building.  Admission is $6 for the day, and you can leave and come back that same day if you are really into it.  It does get a bit warm in the butterfly house – and butterflies like warm, so dress lightly.   Speaking of warm, I learned an interesting fact yesterday… the Blue Morpho butterfly lets its’ wings open more on cool days to warm itself.   If you ever try to photograph a Blue Morpho, you learn quickly that as soon as they land they close their wings.  I took this shot on one of my previous visits to Wings of Fancy in May of last year.  I didn’t realize why I was so lucky to catch a Blue Morpho with his wings apart until this last trip!

This trip I took my new (as of June) 70mm-300mm Nikon lens to try it out on the butterflies.  I got some great eye-level shots of several butterflies feeding with great out-of-focus backgrounds since I was racked out at 300mm for many.  The thing I forgot, was that I don’t have the close focusing distance with that lens, so there were plenty of shots I missed because I could not achieve focus that close.  Also, I didn’t get many shots looking down at the butterflies like this one above, since I’m not that tall!  Next time I think I’ll take two lenses.

If you’d like to photograph butterflies and live in the DC area, this is a spot not to miss!  Even after the butterfly exhibit closes, the gardens are a great place to take your camera – and the gardens are free!  Brookside Gardens is definitely on my list of favorite shooting spots!

About 1morecreative

Explorer of the creative side.
This entry was posted in Locations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

