First Photo Expo

Yesterday I went to NYC to attend the PhotoPlus Expo at the Javits Center. It was my first photography trade show, and I understand it is the second largest there is – so needless to say, I was not underwhelmed. It was crowded! I had lots of fun though, looking at things in person that I had only seen in magazines. I got to try out a Lensbaby, look at different lighting gear close-up, and see the full line of products in person from places I’ve already tried like MPix, and Moo. I spent quite a bit of time at the Manfrotto booth watching their free educational seminars given by Scott Kelby and RC Concepcion. I didn’t take many pictures at the show, but I did snap a few of Scott and RC:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have to say the highlight of the day for me was just seeing so many photographers in real life that I’ve watched on the internet. I am an avid follower of  The Photoshop Guys and D-Town TV, and it was cool to shake hands with Scott Kelby and Larry Becker while they were just standing around in the aisles. I also saw Dave Cross zip by a few times and wandered past Scott Bourne of Photofocus while he was interviewing someone. I know Chase Jarvis, Joe McNally, and Matt Kloskowski were also on the premises, but I wasn’t lucky enough to pass by them. Also, I was very happy to spend a few minutes with multi-titled Rob Sylvan (iStockPhoto Inspector, NAPP Help Desk and Taking Stock author) before heading out the door to catch the Megabus home.

With a $17 round-trip fare on the Megabus and a free pass to the Expo thanks to Jeffrey Snyder of Adorama, it was a very inexpensive and memorable day. I’ve added lots of gear to my wish list though, so maybe it wasn’t truly an inexpensive trip. The wish list will have to wait for a bit more sales on iStock, but I wouldn’t wait if you have chance to go to PhotoPlus Expo. The Expo is going on the rest of today and tomorrow, or mark your calendar for next year (October 27-29th.) as it is definitely worth spending a day for any photo enthusiast!

About 1morecreative

Explorer of the creative side.
This entry was posted in Events, Locations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Photo Expo

  1. A great post, Brycia! I wasn’t even aware of this event… something for me to look forward to for later this year.

  2. …also, thanks for the great links! These were new to me, too.

Leave a Reply

