BorrowLenses Discount of the Week

Ever think “Oh, if I had better glass, my photography would look so much better!” or “I wonder what it’s like to use a pro lens?” or just wish you had all the glass that Scott Kelby or Joe McNally use?  Well, if you are like me and don’t make quite as much as Scott or Joe do shooting, you probably have had lenses envy at one time or another.  One of the best ways to cure your lens lust (or sometimes make it worse) is to rent the lens you are drooling over.  At least after you’ve tried a lens out for a few days, your emotions are based on actual experience and not “if only I…”

I’ve rented lenses twice in my short life as a photographer.  The first time was several years ago, and honestly I can’t remember who I rented from.  My most recent rental was from BorrowLenses.com just a month ago.  Both times I was very glad I rented and had a great experience.  My first rental was the Nikon 60mm f/2.8 Micro which I promptly went out and bought after renting.  I love that lens!  Last month I decided to give the Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8 a try after BorrowLenses.com offered a discount on that lens via Twitter.  I’m glad I did, as it cured my longing for that lens for now.  I took some nice photos with it that have been accepted at iStockPhoto, like this one below:

But renting the 14-24mm proved to me that I’m more of a telephoto kinda girl, at least for now.  By renting, I got to play with a lens that I couldn’t really afford, and even if I could, would probably been a mistake to buy.  It also reminded me that it is not the gear that makes a great photograph, it’s the photographer.  The 14-24mm in Joe McNally’s hands does a totally different thing than it did in mine.

So, since I had such a great experience with my recent rental, I decided to try to keep a closer eye on BorrowLenses.com’s discounts.  Below are the current discounts offered by BorrowLenses, which I hope they don’t mind my sharing.  I plan to post their discount offers whenever I find them, so if you aren’t a Twitter bird, hopefully you can find them here.  Most times offers require shipping in the same week, but apply to any duration rental.

This week’s BorrowLenses.com discounts are:

Nikon: 25% off Zeiss 50mm f/1.4 with the code Zeissprime.

Canon: 25% off Zeiss 50mm f/2 Makro 4  with the code Zeiss50

Sony: 25% off 20mm f/2.8 with the code Sony20

About 1morecreative

Explorer of the creative side.
This entry was posted in Discounts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

