My First Flame

As I decelerated preparing to brake for the right turn onto my street one morning, I heard an explosive SHOT. I wasn’t sure if something had flown up and hit my CR-V or if it was a tire, or some other type of mechanical failure. I immediately took my foot off the gas – the vehicle was still handling okay as far as I could tell – and I didn’t see any bodies or car parts laying in the roadway behind me when I glanced in the rearview mirror. I gingerly continued on, making the right turn just another 50 feet ahead of me. I accelerated up the slight hill, hit the button for the garage door and pulled into the middle of the garage. Opening the door and hopping out I heard the telltale “hissssssssss…” of a tire. Little did I know that this would be the start of my best selling image on iStockPhoto to date.

It was December 16th, 2010. I had just dropped Andrew off at his elementary school and stopped at Bloom for a few groceries. My husband was at work. There was a light dusting of snow predicted, and I was now stuck at home without my wheels. At least I had made it home! Better the car be in the garage than along the road. I called my husband and told him the good news, and then settled in to spend the rest of the day at home. As I was putting the groceries away, I got thinking, maybe this could be a photo opportunity at least.

So, after getting a few chores done around the house, I went downstairs and got my camera and attached my 70-300mm lens. Since the truck was in the garage, I knew I wouldn’t have good light, but I didn’t think it was worth dragging my flashes out too. I mean, how exciting could a flat tire be? I just grabbed my tripod and a white reflector card and headed out to the garage. I opened the garage door again to let in more light, which provided a strong backlight, especially with the lightly falling snow. Definitely need that fill card. I set my camera up, took about 10 shots, one of the later being this one at 12:40PM. Time for lunch.

And that was how my first flame came into being! And here it is:

Oh, in case you are wondering “What the heck is a flame?” – it means that the image has been downloaded at least 100 times. iStockphoto puts little flames of different colors over images that have exceeded certain download milestones.

About 1morecreative

Explorer of the creative side.
This entry was posted in Behind the Scene, iStockPhoto Images, Milestones. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

