Thankful for Where You Are…

It is autumn here in the northeast and this Thursday is Thanksgiving.  Hard to believe!  The time has been flying by… that is a good thing for me right now.  I have been off my feet due to some necessary foot surgery and only have another two weeks before I can drive and get around without my “boot”. Just before I gave up my freedom and submitted to the scalpel, I took some time to appreciate the interesting areas near where I live with my camera in hand. I decided this is something I don’t do enough of normally and should do more. It took the impending restrictions of surgery to get me out the door. I visited Pataspco State Park where I love to take waterfall photos, Annapolis, and Ellicott City; I could have spent days more exploring Baltimore, Washington and many monuments and museums they offer.  I am lucky to live in an area with so much to offer. But even if I didn’t live in the Baltimore-Washington area, there is just so much everywhere and anywhere to enjoy. A wide angle study of a stream or waterfall or city skyline, or macro views of colorful autumn leaves can fill a photographer’s day with possibilities!

People, especially photographers, often lust for exotic lands, travel, just being somewhere else and in the process miss the wonder that surrounds them. During my little pre-op jaunts I came to realize that there is so much to explore and photograph within an hour of home that I would never run out of interesting subjects if I live to be 100. Travel is not a bad thing; getting out of one’s own backyard can be the most enlightening thing you can do for yourself. But, sometimes the desire to “go somewhere” causes you to miss what is right next to you. This Thanksgiving, take time to live in the moment and appreciate what is where you are, wherever that may be. And, don’t forget to take some pictures!

Oh, and if you need a wide-angle or macro lens for those pictures, BorrowLenses is offering 15% off everything this week with the code Turkeytime! : )

Happy Thanksgiving!

About 1morecreative

Explorer of the creative side.
This entry was posted in Discounts, iStockPhoto Images, Locations, Musings, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful for Where You Are…

  1. Very nicely put! Give blessings to the place you are, and your motives for being there. You write very well, keep up the great work. Thanks for sharing.

  2. DITTO! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

