On Inspiration (or how my mind wanders…)

What inspires you?

As a photographer, especially a stock photographer, I am always in search of inspiration. For that matter, any creative person continually seeks inspiration. Barbara Grizzuti Harrison said “There are no original ideas. There are only original people.” I believe that to be true. We are all influenced and inspired by what we see around us. The trick is to really “see” and to recognize how we can make our own interpretations of what we see.

Lately I’ve had quite a few ideas for my stock work, although sometimes those thoughts are fleeting.  For those times, making a visual record in Evernote preserves that idea for a time when no inspiration flows spontaneously.  Sometimes I have an idea and begin to collect things I need to make the intended image, then another idea bursts into my consciousness and off I go on a new tangent.  These new creative bursts are often spawned by something ephemeral in my environment which must be seized at the moment it is realized, which is what happened this week and resulted in my third Vetta image being added to my portfolio:

I was in the kitchen cleaning up from breakfast on Monday morning after getting the kids off to school, when I noticed how nicely two of my chive plants were looking on the deck.  I particularly appreciate these two plants since they reseeded themselves and grow with no help from me.  I thought “hey, I should take a picture of one of them”, which lead to this:

But, I really like close-ups, and I have gotten much more conscious of how a designer might use an image with copy space, so that lead me to these two images:

And, that got my thinking, since the chives look so nice, I should make something I could photograph using them for lunch… and oh, yeah, I bought frozen bay scallops at BJ’s some time ago to do a food shoot and never used them… so…

So… that’s how I got inspired for my third Vetta image, never made it to the gym on Monday, and didn’t eat lunch until after 3PM.

Oh, the scallops were good after I warmed them back up, by the way. Here’s the recipe:

1 cup of bay scallops
1 Tbsp of butter
1 Tbsp of olive oil
linguine
chive
lemon
sea salt

Saute the scallops in the butter, olive oil, and own juices. When the scallops are nearly cooked through, remove from heat and sprinkle with about a tablespoon of chopped chive and sea salt to taste and stir. Pour over cooked linguine and sprinkle with more chives and blossoms if available. Squeeze with fresh lemon juice and enjoy!

 

About 1morecreative

Explorer of the creative side.
This entry was posted in Food Photography, iStockPhoto Images, Milestones, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Inspiration (or how my mind wanders…)

  1. Good blog with excellent illustrations!

Leave a Reply

