Food Friday – No Coke!

Now that the kids are back in school, I hope to post a bit more regularly… But today I thought I’d write a quick post on a significant thing I did over summer vacation… I quit drinking diet Coke!!!  For me it was a big deal!  See, I used to drink eight or ten cans a day.  First thing in the morning, all day long and I’d even take a can to bed with me.  It was obvious that I was addicted, and any kind of addiction can’t be good, right?  So, I finally quit.

Image

This is my new favorite drink – iced tea.  I don’t drink it all day long, I drink lots of water too, but I do carry this cup with me everywhere.  I guess that could be considered an addiction, or at least an oral fixation, but  it is a healthier one.  So, how did I kick the habit?  I’ve tried several times before to cut back.  This time, it was Cold Turkey!  We ran out of diet Coke (I would NEVER drink any other brand!) and I resolved not to buy any.  Luckily, being the summertime, iced tea was readily available, so I think that helped me over the caffeine cravings.  It actually wasn’t bad after the first day or two and now I don’t crave it!  It will be two months next week!  I’m so glad to be rid of that expensive, unhealthy ball and chain!  Freedom!

Oh, for the photographically inclined, the above shot was my first high ISO experiment on my new D800.  It was shot handheld at 6400 ISO, with the 24-120mm VR Nikkor lens at 105mm with an aperture of f/4.0 for 1/30 sec.  Not bad!

Next week, I promise – real food!

Have a great weekend!

About 1morecreative

Explorer of the creative side.
This entry was posted in Food Friday, Food Photography, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

