Food Friday – Discovering Quinoa

I recently discovered Quinoa… I had bought some red quinoa years ago, but not having researched how to prepare it, I simply boiled it with no seasoning – boring…  It wasn’t until a few weeks ago when I decided to give it another try that I discovered how versatile and tasty quinoa dishes can be.   As chameleonic as rice but much more healthful, quinoa can be served hot or cold, sweet or savory.  Below is a variation on a recipe I found on Martha Stewart:

I am still looking for more creative ways to eat quinoa, but so far, this salad is my favorite.  It is based on several recipes I found on-line, and is vegan as listed, although I often add a bit of Feta Cheese to make it even more flavorful.  I love the fresh taste of this salad with LOTS of lemon juice!

Quinoa Salad with Cucumber and Tomato

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 large or two small cucumbers
  • 1 half onion chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • juice of two lemons
  • 1 cup of chopped parsley

Bring two cups of water to a boil, add quinoa and reduce heat. Cook the quinoa for about 15 minutes until all the water is absorbed. Remove from stove and allow to cool. Meantime, dice cucumber, tomato, and onion. Chop parley, juice two lemons and press cloves of garlic. Combine all ingredients once the quinoa has cooled. Mix and enjoy!

I have lots of images of both bulk raw quinoa and the breakfast version available in my iStockphoto portfolio with more of my favorite salad added daily, if you need one for your project:

Quinoa is an economical, healthy, protein-rich, gluten-free food source. In fact, quinoa has as much protein per 100 grams as ground beef! I buy mine at a local natural food market, but if you can’t find it in your area you can even buy it on Amazon for a little over $5 per pound. For more information and quinoa recipes Queen of Quinoa is a great resource!

Have a healthy and happy weekend!

Note: I’ve since found very reasonably priced Quinoa at BJ’s Wholesale too – so check there if you are a member!

About 1morecreative

Explorer of the creative side.
This entry was posted in Food Friday, Food Photography, iStockPhoto Images, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Friday – Discovering Quinoa

  1. Pingback: Food Friday – Vegetarian Spinach and White Bean Chili | 1MoreCreative

Leave a Reply

