Taking Stock of Guns

This past Friday I attended my first rally of any sort.  It was a rally supporting stricter gun legislation in Maryland.  I attended the rally mainly to document the event with Editorial images for iStockphoto.

I have mixed feelings about any sort of gun control legislation… I am originally from Pennsylvania, a state where hunting is a huge sport.  I’ve shot guns before, target practice, not hunting.  I grew up a quarter mile from a gun club that hosts the Pennsylvania State Trap Shooting competition and even tried out working in the traps when I was young.  I enjoyed the little bit of target shooting I’ve done and certainly don’t want to see guns taken away from those who choose them as their sport or hobby.

But, I also have children.  My heart goes out to those who have lost their child for any reason.  I can’t imagine the pain.  The violence and nastiness that occurs in our schools and our society today is very sad.  I don’t know why we can’t all be a little nicer to one another, in school, on the highways and even at home.  Sandy Hook was just one more reminder of the problems we face.

I don’t know what the answer is.  I often wonder if the pressure to succeed, to be more popular, richer, have bigger and more possessions, higher grades, more power or prestige pushes some people too far.  I sometimes think that increasingly competitive society we live in is at the root of our problems.  American Greed.

While we ponder this escalating problem in our society, if you need some images to enhance your publication, you can find some great ones on iStockphoto.  Here are a few of mine:

About 1morecreative

Explorer of the creative side.
This entry was posted in iStockPhoto Images, Locations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking Stock of Guns

  1. Love your title! Also, you have a good point about “greed.” However, I think “power” ranks higher in this case. Check out my blog: http://bjschupp.blogspot.com/2013/01/more-on-guns.html

Leave a Reply

